Quinoa & Veggies – A Perfect Match!

After a busy week of eating on-the-run and dining out, my body is not my biggest fan.  So by week’s end, I vow to to get back on track — making better food choices and planning out meals to ensure I don’t grab the easiest (usually unhealthy) food I can find. Mornings are rushed and energy levels are fading at night, so Sunday is the perfect day to stock up on nutritious groceries and prepare a healthy salad that can be eaten during the week as a lunch, or as a supper side-dish.  I often turn to my favourite super-seed – Quinoa – as it fills me up, curbs my hunger and plays nicely with veggies when used in the same dish.  Here is one of my go-to salads: Mediterranean Quinoa Salad.  A simple batch of quinoa mixed with sliced veggies, and moisten with a lemon-oregano dressing produces a salad bursting with colour, freshness and crunch.  You can add whatever veggies you like and omit any you don’t like.  I substituted 1 cup of black beans for the black olives and added some crumbled feta cheese for fun!  Time for lunch…enjoy!

Image

One response to “Quinoa & Veggies – A Perfect Match!

  1. Tracey

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

